Ironman? Me?

A friend I’ve made online, through the Autism community – recently asked about how my fitness goals were coming along.  She made the comment, that if I ever do Ironman Kona, she would personally come there to cheer me on.  I laughed.  Me.  Ironman.  Kona.  IRONMAN distance period LOLHAHAHAHAHA

Whoo what a knee slapper!  I can’t stop lau- wait, is that an impossible goal? Not Kona specifically, but an Ironman distance?  A quick summation, an Ironman triathlon distance is a 2.4-mile (3.86 km) swim, a 112-mile (180.25 km) bike and a marathon (26.2 miles  42.195 km) run – WITHOUT A BREAK.

Am I stupid to think about someday attempting this?  These days age isn’t a boundary.  I find myself mentally mapping out a ough draft, long-term goal, as my kids get older and more independent.

Who knows?  I’ll see how each year goes and try to challenge myself more the next year.  I need to find out how much I am willing to put into this, how much I am able to put into this.

That said, my husband and I are definitely volunteering at the Ironman in Kona.  Our 20th anniversary is only 3 and a half years away.  Sounds like the perfect destination.  Better pull out that spare change jar!

2 thoughts on “Ironman? Me?

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

