Post Iron Girl Goals

Here are some things I have planned for the upcoming months leading into Christmas:

The Brueggers Bagels Halloween Run, 5k and a children’s fun run.  I plan on dressing up as Molly Weasley – complete with apron and a wand that makes “wand noises.”   🙂

Trek Women Breast Cancer Awareness Ride (I’m debating on doing the 10 mile or the 25 mile bike – hills!!).  October.

My hometown’s 42 annual Turkey Trot, November, 5k.

Wounded Warrior 5k Run, November.  Proceeds benefit our local VA Medical Center’s Operation Iraqi Freedom and Operation Enduring Freedom programs.

and lastly for 2010, the Its A Wonderful Run, December, 5k.  Proceeds benefit a local food pantry.

3 thoughts on “Post Iron Girl Goals

  1. Hí! I am so inspired by your story training and completing tour first Tri! I am so excited for you! Do you train with a group? If so how did you find it? I am trying to find persons like me who want to train together to do a Tri.

    I am looking at a duathlon.

    Today I did my first 10k. Time was 1:09 but that included a portpotty visit, sigh…. It went really great though. Felt strong at mi 5 and picked up the pace. I did 2 5k’s this year, 32min and 34min. Working towards a 1/2 marathon in Oct if my asthma allows.

    Thank you for sharing and I love your schedule of upcoming runs!

  2. Hí! I am so inspired by your story training and completing tour first Tri! I am so excited for you! Do you train with a group? If so how did you find it? I am trying to find persons like me who want to train together to do a Tri.

    I am looking at a duathlon.

    Today I did my first 10k. Time was 1:09 but that included a portpotty visit, sigh…. It went really great though. Felt strong at mi 5 and picked up the pace. I did 2 5k’s this year, 32min and 34min. Working towards a 1/2 marathon in Oct if my asthma allows.

    Thank you for sharing and I love your schedule of upcoming runs!

    Iowa Tri Wannabe

  3. Renee…I’m so sorry I didn’t reply sooner. Congrats on a fantastic accomplishment! I hope to break the 5k marker soon. I am fortunate to have a great YMCA in my area – it offers running groups and may tri related clinics open to members and non members alike. There is also an active tri club in my town – newbies and experience tri vets are welcome. My best advice is to look up the events in your area – see if any groups pop out and look at their contact info. Also, see if any area gyms offer tri related events/training. Keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

