I’m Getting It!

04/ 09/10

What am I getting?  Swimming! I can finally swim, face in the water, doing the freestyle stroke and actually turn my head to take a breathe.  An actual BREATH.  Not a strangled “heeep!” as I attempt to suck in air.  It used to feel a lot  like trying to suck in that first sip of an especially thick milkshake.

Right now, I’m working with the pull buoy for two reasons.  It keeps me from kicking and forces me to focus on using my upper body (I need to build endurance quite a bit in that area).  Secondly, it allows me to feel how I should be turning. in order to breathe.  Don’t get me wrong, as I start to get tired I will sometimes get a poor inhalation (ie, starting to swallow water)…or worse yet, a snoot-full of water.  Ow.  My nose is especially sensitive to the chlorine in the pool and if I’m not careful, I wind up with painfully sore sinuses.

04/13/10

Another Beginner Tri Swim class today…amazingly (to me mostly, I admit) I did 13 laps!  Another 4 and I’ll have my distance goal in the pool!  I’m getting much better at correctly positioning my head in the water, so that when I turn to breathe…I’m actually breathing and not trying to quench my thirst with pool water.

Today my day was made, when my instructor told me I have good form!  (Insert happy dance here)  Now my goal is endurance, endurance, endurance!  The speed will come after.  Not drowning, comes first.  Its amazing, but two months of training is actually starting to show.  I’ve lost 7lbs! The best part though…is having people randomly tell me how “fit” I’m looking. Me! Fit!!  Imagine that!

I’ve also learned I have a love/hate relationship with my swim cap.  Nasty latex thing.  My head got so hot midway through my swim, I tore it off and tossed it clean out of the pool onto the deck.  I hear silicone is more comfortable, but is it any cooler?  I doubt it.  I want to find a weird swim cap…I really like the shark fin one I saw, but it was for little kids.  If you know of any cool, odd ones for adults please let me know.  Thanks!

Lastly, because its late…don’t think it’s ever too late to find your inner athlete.  The conversation might be halting and awkward at first, but give it a chance.  You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

