Flutter Kick…I Will Master You!

I hope I’m not the only one OLD enough to remember the Carol Burnett show.  Tim Conway had a character he played, an old man with a messy shock of white hair and a very very slow, shuffling gate.  Conway would send Harvey Corman into fits of nearly uncontrollable giggles, just by his shuffling antics on stage.

What does this have to do with the flutter kick?  Well…picture Conway’s character taking FOREVER to cross from one side of the stage to the other. Now picture me, kick board “lightly held by my fingertips” as instructed, attempting to make one lap and back in the pool.  I’m telling you, grass grows faster than it takes me to do 2 laps.  I am having such a hard time getting the hang of the flutter kick!

I take heart in the fact, that in the swim portion of the tri, I will rely mostly on my upper body strength to complete the swim – saving my legs for the bike and run.  So, THAT is where I am concentrating my efforts.

As I tweeted earlier tonight…if I’m not able to kick ass and take names by August, I at least expect to give a good bruising and get a vague description.

2 thoughts on “Flutter Kick…I Will Master You!

  1. I think the swim section of the Tri is what keeps me from doing one. I am pretty sure I would drown. I am a good swimmer, but I have no way to work on it and I am very slow. Good luck and great visual with Tim Conway. 🙂
    rundad.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

