Day 2…No Running

My left knee really started hurting after my Y runner’s group Sunday the 14th.  We did five intervals of run 5, walk 2.  Three of those 5 minutes involved hill work – a big freaking hill too!  I noticed that my knee hardly bothered me doing the hill work…but once we leveled out, I noticed the dull ache.  Around the 4th interval, I also noticed I was dragging my left foot a bit.  I hated to do it, but I stopped running and walked the remainder of the final interval.

My knee was sore, but not painful.  I drove home, showered, changed and left for work.  It wasn’t until the end of my shift, that my left knee really started to ache.  By that night, I had a noticeable limp.  It looked as though I had fallen prey to that mistake new runners so often make…over doing it!!  So, I spent the rest of Sunday night on the couch, ice on my knee and True Blood on TV.  Monday, I was still pretty sore and still limping, but it seemed better.  Today, almost all pain is gone … tomorrow we’ll see about running.  If I do, it won’t be the interval work I did on Sunday, but I”m hoping I’ll at least get to run a little bit!!

Leave a Reply

