Monday and Friday Nights Are Y Nights!

My kids have swim (Mondays) and Karate (Monday and Fridays) at our area Y.  Making the most of it, these have become my regular workout at the gym days.  I prefer to run outside – I feel very uncoordinated and graceless on the treadmill.  I drift from one side to the next, sometimes I scuff my feet and make that terrible squeak – causing people to look over at me, as though they expect to see me flying off the back and into the wall.

This week’s Y Run assignment is to run 3 minutes, walk 3 minutes and repeat 5 times.  We’re to try and get out to run at least twice.  I’m still holding off on week 4, day 3 of my C25k plan – that 5 minutes is just looming over me like a dark cloud.  To think at one point, in my teens I could run a mile without stopping…and now at 38, running 5 minutes takes nearly superhuman effort.  Well, I’m not as young as I used to be, but I haven’t one foot in the grave either.  I can do this…right? Right!   Still the idea of my being able to run more than 5 minutes without stopping, seems unthinkable.  The idea that at some point, I’ll run a full 30 minutes seems impossible!!  I’ll keep putting one foot in front of the other and I’ll keep raising the bar – or rather, putting that finish line a bit further each time.

Like John Bingham says “Waddle on…”

Leave a Reply

